May 10, 2016
Post by Tim Peters

Tim Peters

Vice President of Marketing

Toronto ON; May 10,, the leading online job marketplace exclusively for sales professionals announced today the launch of their proprietary blind hiring recruitment solution.

“We’re very excited to be able to offer anonymized candidate profiles on our platform,” said Somen Mondal, CEO of “Our blind hiring solution gives forward-thinking employers the ability to remove identifiable data from job applications – information such as name, age, gender, and photos – allowing all candidates to be objectively evaluated based on skills and experience.” enables employers to hire sales professionals that are statistically more likely to ramp up faster, hit quota and stay longer in the role by duplicating their top performers, all while streamlining the sourcing and prescreening of candidates. Continue reading

Apr 19, 2016
Post by Tim Peters

Tim Peters

Vice President of Marketing

After 3 Years of Research Studying 1000’s of the World’s Best Sales Executives – Debuts New Top Performer Benchmark

Toronto ON; April 19, 2016 – After 3 years of research, the online job marketplace for sales professionals, released their findings today after an exhaustive study of sales performance. Led by Head Data Scientist Ji-A Min, MASc, the study reviewed data on thousands of top performing sales executives to determine what personal traits correlated with sales success.

“Everyone has an opinion on what a top performing sales rep looks like. But until you conduct the research, those opinions aren’t fact,” said Ji-A Min. Continue reading

Mar 30, 2016
Post by Kayla Kozan

Kayla Kozan

Recently Launched Dramatically Increases Candidate Satisfaction, Reduces Time-to-Hire by 32%

Toronto ON; March 31st, 2016Until today, the process of finding your ideal sales career was often based on limited information and whichever roles a job seeker discovers first. Candidates applied blindly to multiple positions and never truly knew their strengths and whether they were a good fit for the role.

HR and hiring managers faced a similar challenge: recruiting and hiring the best candidates remained a long and inefficient process. Despite the best HR practices, hiring managers were still forced to depend on gut instinct when offering a job to candidates, never truly knowing if the new hire would thrive within a company’s culture until she undertakes the new position. Continue reading

Nov 26, 2015
Post by Kayla Kozan

Kayla Kozan

The sales industry’s leading online recruitment marketplace, Ideal Candidate has raised $2.5M in its first round of outside capital. The funds will be used to continue development of the organization’s patent-pending hiring solution and expand its sales and marketing presence in key locations throughout North America.

Launched in February of 2014, Ideal Candidate boasts a registered talent pool of more than 25,000 active and passive sales candidates, along with hundreds of client companies. Ideal Candidate’s patent-pending solution significantly improves the success rate of new sales hires by matching potential candidates to the jobs best suited to their individual sales styles. Companies hiring through the site are able to reduce their time to hire by more than 30%, while also lowering recruiting costs and turnover. Continue reading

Mar 26, 2015
Post by Somen Mondal

Somen Mondal

There’s a misconception that entrepreneurs are huge risk takers. Sure, a few outliers quit their jobs (or school), rolled the dice Vegas-style, started a business and made it big. Yes, that happens. But it doesn’t happen often.

I only have my own experience, but having talked to a lot of entrepreneurs, most of them quit their day jobs in a calculated and methodical fashion. I was 27, had what would be considered a great job in the capital markets, and took a calculated risk to quit and pursue my entrepreneurial dream. Quitting is all about taking a calculated risk.

Here are three rules I used to quit my job. Continue reading

Jul 3, 2014
Post by Ji-A Min

Ji-A Min

You’ve heard it again and again: The hiring process is time-consuming, ineffective, and frustrating for both job candidates and employers. To complicate matters, everyone seems to have an opinion on how to fix it. As the lead research analyst at Ideal, I’ve taken a look at the data behind the broken system. By understanding what makes the process so complex, we are able to understand what both job seekers and hiring managers are looking for and create a better process.

A Typical Hiring System An employer posts a job listing internally, on their website, and on job boards. The job listing attracts, on average, 250 applications (with some job listings receiving thousands of resumes). Continue reading
Jun 2, 2014
Post by Kayla Kozan

Kayla Kozan

Team Ideal Candidate got up a little earlier than usual yesterday to take part in the 2014 Becel Heart & Stroke Ride for Heart in Toronto.

The sold-out ride was a huge success, raising over $6M for heart and stroke research and holding strong as Canada’s largest charity cycling event. We were happy to be a few of the approximately 14,000 riders cruising down the highway as the Gardiner Expressway and Don Valley Parkway were cleared for the morning.

We were pretty proud to have clocked a combined 250km before brunch and after we take a couple days to recover, we’ll be setting next year’s goal—500km? Continue reading

May 9, 2014
Post by Kayla Kozan

Kayla Kozan

We like to think 96 Harbord earned us some solid startup street cred. However, once we could no longer power all our monitors and have the modern convenience of a microwave simultaneously—it was time to move.

We hope you enjoy our photo timeline and if you’re a startup still in the attic, keep pushing! Many of today’s most profitable companies started out in less than 400 square ft.

November 2013

January 2014

April 2014

Moving Day begins, May 2014

Drake and Ji-A overseeing the move

See ya later 96 Harbord

U-Haul selfie caught in action

Kayla and Blair working hard


Fit the whole office in

Nightclub or back of the U-Haul? Continue reading

Apr 21, 2014
Post by Shaun Ricci

Shaun Ricci

We are pleased to announce that Blair Kelly has joined the Ideal Candidate team as a software engineer.

Fixing sales hiring is no simple task and we have a lot of work to do. Currently, a lot of that work involves software development and we’re still looking for talented people to add to the team.

Blair comes to us with a background in computer science and communications studies and multimedia. He will be working on the “front end” of Ideal Candidate predominantly but he’s not opposed to writing the odd SQL query.


Unsure of Blair’s geek cred? Check him out tinkering with Aduino projects to put to bed any concerns:

Welcome Blair! Continue reading

Feb 5, 2014
Post by Somen Mondal

Somen Mondal

It’s been a little over 12 months since the acquisition of our last company, Field ID. While building Field ID, my co-founder Shaun and I learned two things about ourselves very quickly:

We love startups and building companies We love solving real world business problems

At our core, we are B2B guys. We didn’t waste any time launching our new startup and today I’m very pleased to introduce Ideal Candidate to the world. This time around we’re solving a problem that we, and many other companies, experience daily: recruiting and identifying top salespeople.

The Problem with Sales Recruiting

While at Field ID, we had an extremely hard time finding the right salespeople. Continue reading

Post by Kayla Kozan

Kayla Kozan

Ideal Candidate is the first recruitment tool tailored to the sales industry and backed by the science of psychometric assessment.

TORONTO, ON – February 05, 2014 – Ideal Candidate today announced the launch of the first patent-pending recruitment tool that uses psychometric assessment, big data and social profiling to help hiring managers find and retain top sales talent.

The two founders, Somen Mondal and Shaun Ricci, are hot off the heels of their former company, Field ID, which was acquired in December 2012. Mondal explains that the natural progression to this space came as a result of problems that he and Ricci experienced first hand when trying to identify sales talent from huge pools of applicants. Continue reading